April 18, 2024


Built General Tough

Storm Lake Elementary Teacher Named a Member of Statewide Computer Science Work Group

Governor Kim Reynolds has announced the members of a new Computer Science Work Group.

The team is being put together thanks to a 2020 state law that for the first time requires Iowa’s 327 school districts and 116 accredited nonpublic schools to offer computer science instruction.

One of the group members is Storm Lake Elementary K-4 STEM teacher Jacquie Drey.

Earlier this year, the governor proposed and the Legislature unanimously passed a bill requiring high schools to offer at least one computer science course by July 1st of 2022. Elementary and middle schools must provide computer science instruction in at least one grade level each by July 1st of 2023.

The bill also calls for the Iowa Department of Education to convene a Computer Science Work Group to make recommendations to strengthen computer science instruction and develop a campaign to promote computer science to K-12 students and families. The work group’s recommendations are due to the General Assembly by July 1st of 2021.

The Computer Science Work Group will hold its first meeting remotely on Tuesday, December 8th.

Drey has served as a teacher in Storm Lake for the past 24 years.  She has taken the lead on a number of innovative projects, including the recycling of more than 750 pounds of used plastic lids into benches featuring the school district’s colors.

In 2018, Drey received an Iowa STEM Teacher Award.